IEEE  |  Contact Us

Plenary Lecture #3

10th Dec. 2022

Discontinuous Control: Past, present, and future

Xinghuo Yu
RMIT University, Melbourne, Australia


Discontinuous control is a very effective approach to deliver fast and efficient actions to achieve desirable control objectives. However, its analysis and synthesis encounter some of the most difficult mathematical problems. Major schools of thoughts, such as the sliding mode control and the switched control systems, have emerged over the last several decades. Yet, there are still many unsolved challenges across the spectrum of theory and applications of discontinuous control. Furthermore, new challenges arise due to fast industrial developments, e.g. industrial cyber-physical systems. In this talk, we will first introduce the basics of discontinuous control. We will then examine the major schools of thoughts in dealing with discontinuity and discontinuous control, and their analysis and synthesis methodologies, exploring inherent properties that distinguish them from the continuous control systems. We will also present key challenges that may hinder their developments and future opportunities especially in the emerging industrial complex cyber-physical systems environments.

Brief Bio:

Xinghuo Yu is an Associate Deputy Vice-Chancellor, a Vice-Chancellor’s Professorial Fellow, and a Distinguished Professor at RMIT University (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology), Melbourne, Australia. He is the Senior Past President of IEEE Industrial Electronics Society. He received BEng and MEng degrees from the University of Science and Technology of China, Hefei, China, in 1982 and 1984, and PhD degree from Southeast University, Nanjing, China in 1988, respectively. His main research areas include control systems engineering, intelligent and complex systems, and smart power and energy systems. He received many awards and honours for his contributions, including the 2018 MA Sargent Medal from Engineers Australia and the 2013 Dr.-Ing. Eugene Mittelmann Achievement Award from IEEE Industrial Electronics Society. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, Engineers Australia, Australian Computer Society, and Australian Institute of Company Directors.

© ONCON 2022